: :   F e s t i v a l     B r u x e l l e n s i s


  • The 13th and 14th of September, 2008
    aux Glacières de Saint-Gilles, rue de la Glacière 18, 1060 Bruxelles
  • on Saturday, the 13th, from 12am to 11pm
  • on Sunday, the 14th, from 12am to 9pm

Bruxellensis - Episode IV

Following on from the last years' success, here is the fourth running of the Bruxellensis Festival. We are adhering even more to its original concept, which, unfortunately, is almost unique: we only feature characterful beers.

There will thus be present brewers producing beers, the majority of which, if not all, have well-defined characteristics. The aim is to support and defend those who have made the decision to turn their back on easy commercial gain but rather have adopted a fighting stance against beers with little flavour. They are thus brewers who wander off the well-trodden path. They work in breweries on a human, rather than an industrial scale, using traditional and natural methods, and are guided by higher motives than an unbridled pursuit of profit. They are small in size, but their contribution to our brewing heritage is enormous: they are the ultimate guarantors of the preservation of centuries old tradition and produce beers with a genuine diversity of flavours.

These flavours are the main theme of Bruxellensis: we have deliberately chosen to present breweries which buck the predominant trend practised today by Belgian brewers, who appear to be determined to offer beers that are far too sweet and fruity. The brewers featured at the festival put character and authenticity first, these qualities being at the spearhead of the beers from our region!

 

 

We are not saying that there are good or bad brewers, but that there is an alternative to the flavour standardisation that is threatening Belgian Beer.

In order to show that our views on good beer are universal, we have decided this year to feature more foreign breweries. Therefore, France, Finland, Spain, England and Germany will be nobly represented by several of their brewing jewels in the crown!

 

Cheers!



Bruxellensis Practical Details:

  • 15cl Tasting Glass (to take home): 3
  • Beer Tokens: 1.20 each
  • Good food available

 

Galeries :


  Concert:   Fanfare - Pas ce soir Chéri - Sunday the 09th at 6 pm



 

Our partners :


The Commune of Saint-Gilles

   

Characterful beers, only one adress:

   


The English-language pages of this website were translated from the French pages by John White of White Beer Travels, www.whitebeertravels.com.

: :   F e s t i v a l     B r u x e l l e n s i s


  • Les 13 et 14 septembre 2008,
    aux Glacières de Saint-Gilles, rue de la Glacière 18, 1060 Bruxelles
  • Le samedi 13, de 12h à 23h
  • Le dimanche 14, de 12h à 21h

Bruxellensis - Episode IV

Fort de son succès de l’an passé (succès public, mais aussi d’estime), voici la quatrième édition du Festival Bruxellensis. Plus que jamais, nous suivons son concept originel et (malheureusement…) original : celui de proposer exclusivement des bières de caractère.

Seront donc présents des brasseurs dont la majorité, sinon l’entièreté, de la production est dédiée à des bières ayant une personnalité bien affirmée. Le but est de soutenir et défendre ceux qui ont décidé de tourner le dos à la facilité bassement commerciale, ceux qui adoptent une attitude lutte par rapport au nivellement par le bas du goût de la bière. Ce sont donc des brasseurs qui sortent des sentiers battus. Ils travaillent dans des brasseries à taille humaine, selon des méthodes traditionnelles, naturelles, et sont guidés par des valeurs autres que la recherche effrénée du profit. Leur taille est modeste, mais leur apport à notre patrimoine brassicole est énorme : ce sont les derniers garants d’une tradition multiséculaire et d’une réelle diversité de goûts.

Ce sont ces goûts qui sont le fil conducteur de Bruxellensis : nous avons choisi délibérément de présenter des brasseries qui vont à l’encontre de la tendance dominante de la brasserie belge, qui est de proposer des bières sucrées, fruitées et épicées à l’excès. Place donc au caractère et à l’authenticité, qui ont toujours été le fer de lance des bières de nos régions !

 

 

Notre propos n’est cependant pas de dire qu’il y a des bons ou des mauvais brasseurs, mais bien qu’il existe une alternative à la standardisation du goût de la bière belge.

Afin de bien montrer que les valeurs qui sous-tendent la bonne bière sont universelles, nous avons décidé cette année de nous ouvrir encore plus aux brasseries étrangères. C’est ainsi que la France, la Finlande, l’Espagne, l’Angleterre et l’Allemagne seront dignement représentées par quelques-uns de leurs fleurons brassicoles !

A votre santé !

Bruxellensis – Concrètement :

  • Verre de dégustation 15cl (à emporter) : 3€
  • Jeton de dégustation : 1,20€ pièce
  • Petite restauration sur place

Galeries :

  Evénement:   Fanfare - Pas ce soir Chéri - Dimanche 09 septembre à 18h


 

Nos partenaires:


La Commune de Saint-Gilles

   

Bières artisanales, une adresse:

   


La version anglaise de ce site est le fruit du travail de Mr. John White (www.whitebeertravels.com).